Board of Directors

Twyla Baker, Ph.D., Chair

Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College

Dr. Baker is a Native Governance Center Rebuilder (Cohort 2) and serves as President of Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College, the chartered college of her Tribal Nation. Living and working in her home community, Dr. Baker brings networking expertise and real world experience working with Tribal Nations, which she has done throughout her career. As a researcher and data scientist, Dr. Baker is vested in ensuring Tribal Nations possess and employ quality data and information to empower and inform decision making for the good of Tribal citizens.

Caleb Dogeagle

Solicitor General
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Caleb is an NGC Rebuilder (Cohort 9), and previously served as legal counsel to the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation. Mr. Dogeagle serves on the Minnesota Commission on Judicial Selection and the board of the Rural Renewable Energy Alliance. He earned a B.A. from Montana State University in Bozeman, MT. He also earned his J.D. and LL. M from the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law in Tucson, AZ, focusing within the Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy Program.

Frank Ettawageshik, Secretary

Executive Director
Waganakising Odawak (Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians) United Tribes of Michigan

Frank is a former Tribal Chairman and a current Appellate Court Justice. He works on leadership development for Indian Country. His work includes local, regional, national and international efforts on Indigenous cultural property rights, treaty rights, environmental protection and climate change mitigation and adaptation.

Megan Hill

Director, Honoring Nations
Oneida Nation Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development

Michael Laverdure

Principal Architect
Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa DSGW Architects

Tracey Zephier, Treasurer

Attorney General
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe